Living with a broken heart

My heart shattered into a million pieces on July 26,2021 when the judge rendered his decision and changed my life for the next 5-7 years (with good behavior).

With the words YEARS coming from his mouth I could do nothing but let out the loudest, deepest, soul stopping cry… As they added metal bracelets to my son’s tiny wrists I jumped up to fight, push that white man off or just hug my son… I don’t even know what my plan was in that moment I just knew I needed to get to him… hug him…. Save him…. Free him…

My heart hurts.

I can physically feel the pain of missing my son, daily.

The agony of his absence is soul crushing.

I pray I learn to cope with not being able to hug my son as I will relish in the 20 minute phone calls, letters, 30 minute video visits.

My heart is broken but my spirit is not. I will get through this. I will get THROUGH this. I will GET through this.

One thought on “Living with a broken heart

Leave a comment